Fancy People at the Fancy Steakhouse

23 Oct

Mr. Beez loves steakhouses. His usual request for his birthday dinner is “a steak as big as my head!” We had a Morton’s gift card from back when we planned to go there for his birthday in May. We didn’t go then, because we had just gone to our most-insane-dinner-on-earth at Per Se, and were a bit scared off from expensive dining for a while.

Steakhouses aren’t really my style. I’m not against them, I can reliably find a tasty meal at a steakhouse. I just feel like if I’m going to spend a huge chunk of cash on a fine meal, I’d like for it to be memorably innovative. Steakhouses are predictable, and predictable dining isn’t quite my thing.

20121017-223623.jpg

Mr. Beez, our friend David, and I went to the Pittsburgh Opera to see Rigoletto a couple Sundays ago, and followed the performance with fancy dinner at Mortons.

We had the New Orleans Shrimp appetizer, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Shrimp and butter and cream and bread? Yum.

20121017-223630.jpg

I chose the salmon for my entree. I’m failing at putting together a description. They made a good dish of it, because they are Morton’s and that’s what they do.

20121017-223638.jpg

I LOVE BROCCOLI.
Really, I do.

20121017-223649.jpg

I also love wine. I wonder if those huge wine bottles are just decoration, or if every once in a while some high roller comes in and orders one. Yum yum wine.

20121017-223657.jpg

If you are wondering what to get me for my birthday, you can get me THAT bottle of wine!
Morton's - the Steakhouse on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Fancy People at the Fancy Steakhouse”

  1. laceyjbrown October 23, 2012 at 10:42 am #

    So they gave you an entire bunch of broccoli? Awesome!

    • BeezusKiddo October 23, 2012 at 10:45 am #

      That’s their usual serving size….meant for sharing. Unless you are me.

Leave a Reply

