30 before 30: A Perfect Day

21 Nov

My husband spoils me. Spoils me.  For my last day of my 20s, he gave me the green light to spend the day doing every little thing I wanted to do.  I started the day off with an exhilarating but tough hot yoga class at Bikram Yoga. Afterward, I spent a little time relaxing with one of my favorite pasttimes: sipping coffee and reading magazines.  The coffee was from my favorite shop in Pittsburgh, of course– Commonplace Coffee.

20121119-210135.jpg

Afterward, followed an afternoon of shopping, tacos at Smoke BBQ Taqueria, and a hot stone massage and mani-pedi.  Oh how wonderful!

When I jokingly told Mr. Beez that I wanted Hostess treats, in fear that the impending liquidation would mean that cupcakes and ho hos are no more, he drove to FIVE different stores, and finally found me the most shameful of baked treats: powdered donettes.

20121119-210308.jpg

Mr. Beez especially spoiled me with a mini-vacation right here in Pittsburgh.  We got a fancy suite at the Fairmont hotel, and enjoyed the luxe life for one night!

20121119-210146.jpg

The gorgeous view of Market Square from our hotel room

Yes, the Fairmont is so fancy that in addition to its vegan, macrobiotic, raw food, and gluten free room service menus, they also have a room service menu just for cats and dogs.

20121119-210315.jpg

After checking into the hotel, we met up with a few friends for dinner at NOLA on the Square,  and enjoyed spicy food and sweet desserts!

20121119-210205.jpg

NOLA Bourbon Birthday Cheesecake!

And after dinner, we had a few birthday cocktails at the always fun and always tasty Andy’s Wine Bar

20121119-210216.jpg

And at midnight, my friend Christine got the jazz band to play “Happy Birthday” to me!

20121119-210235.jpg

Dancing to my Happy Birthday song (and humiliating Christine)

And we ended the evening with a few hilarious rounds of Apples to Apples.  The best! The best!

20121119-210258.jpg

30 is great! Happy birthday to me!

3 Responses to “30 before 30: A Perfect Day”

  1. laceyjbrown November 23, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    What a fabulous 30th birthday!

  2. Caitlin November 26, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    This looks like a great birthday! Happy Belated!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 30 before 30 | BeezusKiddo - March 1, 2013

    […] Plan and execute a “Perfect Day,” including spa treatments, an outing with Baby Beez, and a date with Mr. Beez. (Accomplished November 17, 2012) […]

Leave a Reply

