An Evening with Kevin Smith at the Carnegie Library & Music Hall of Homestead

25 Nov

Mr. Beez is the hardest person in the universe to buy gifts for. He has very specific interests, and when he wants something he tends to just go and get it before I have a chance to buy it. Also, I am TERRIBLE at keeping secrets when it involves a surprise for Mr. Beez. Whenever I buy him a present, I get super super excited, so very excited that ALL I want to do is tell him about the present, and then I can’t keep my mouth shut and I ruin the surprise.

This time, however, I managed to keep my big mouth shut and for real surprise Mr. Beez with something he really liked! Kevin Smith is Mr. Beez’ all time favorite director. When I heard he was coming to Pittsburgh to speak at the Carnegie Library and Music Hall of Homestead, it was a no brainer. I bought tickets immediately.

Although I’ve been to the Music Hall for prior concerts, I had never been in the library. It’s very cozy and nice, and would be a perfect place to settle into a big chair and read for an afternoon.

20121125-140423.jpg

Kevin Smith was hilarious and engaging. He was supposed to speak from 8pm-10:30pm (which is a long time for a talk), but he was so into chatting that he didn’t stop talking until 11:15. He talked about all kinds of things– his movies, his podcasts, his fantastic relationship with his wife. The overarching theme of his evening was CREATE. He is moving away from movies into “smaller” media like podcasts, and he emphatically encouraged the audience to turn on their laptops, get some friends together, start talking, and start podcasting20121125-140451.jpg

While podcasting isn’t my thing, Smith’s enthusiasm encouraged me to keep going strong with blogging. I’ve got entertaining things to say, and people have fun reading this, and by writing publicly I keep myself accountable to keep creating. Even if you’re not a huge fan of Smith’s movies, he is hilarious and a lot of fun (anyone familiar with his movies will know his language is not for the feint of heart, so don’t bring your grandmother). He’s busy talking in cities all around the country. If he comes to your town, it’s totally worth it to plunk a couple bucks to check him out!20121125-140504.jpg

3 Responses to “An Evening with Kevin Smith at the Carnegie Library & Music Hall of Homestead”

  1. Sandy November 25, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    I meant to tell you, if you look at the Wikipedia page on him, apparently he gave a SEVEN HOUR Q&A at one point. It went from 8-3. And it was over daylight savings so they actually ended at 4.

    • BeezusKiddo November 25, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

      That so does not surprise me. If he talked for 7 hours last night, you can bet your buttons that Mike would have stayed there for every last minute of it (uncomfortable chairs and all)

      • Sandy November 25, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

        I think I would have had to go to the hospital to have my bum amputated if I’d had to sit in that seat for 7 hours.

Leave a Reply

