NaBloPoMo Day 5: Teacher or Student

5 Dec

research-cat-lolcat

Do you enjoy teaching others? Talk about a time you taught someone how to do something.

I learn things best when I have to explain them to someone else.  Theoretically, the knowledge comes before the teaching.  For me, however, teaching means I have to really think a topic through, question it, examine it through all angles, and rehash it in a concise and understandable way.

I tutored other students when I was in Jr High and High School, but it has been a long time since I was in a traditional “teaching” setting.  There is plenty of teaching and learning going on in my day to day work.  Plenty of time is spent bouncing ideas off of other people, thinking through strategy, and exploring different arguments and approaches.

The experience that sticks out most to me as a teaching experience was when I volunteered at the Boys and Girls Club when I was in High School.  I was there to tutor the kids and basically hang out with them and supervise them.  We got a big shipment of arts supplies in, and so I would lead them in arts & crafts activities.  It wasn’t typical teaching, I wish I were crafty but I just don’t have the talent.  But I hauled out the pipe cleaners and googly eyes and glue, and the kids LOVED it.  There was one little girl who would follow me around nonstop every time I was there, and she would draw little pictures for me.  I was just shocked at how excited these kids got about arts and crafts, and how excited they got when they saw me walking in the door.

One Response to “NaBloPoMo Day 5: Teacher or Student”

  1. laceyjbrown December 6, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

    Isn’t it amazing how much impact you make just being there?

Leave a Reply

