NaBloPoMo Day 9: Administrative Assistant

9 Dec

I work most weekends, but hardly ever spend my weekends in the office. Usually, I can get my work done from home. On the weekends that really do require my presence in the workplace, Mr. Beez and I can usually sort things out so that he’s at home with Baby Beez when I’m at work, and vice versa. Some weekends don’t work out that way, and the final result is a field trip for Baby Beez.

20121209-182524.jpg

I’m involved in a big filing for tomorrow, and the degree of coordination required meant I needed to be in the office.  (And yes, I really DID have to use the Bluebook today.)  Mr. Beez also had obligations, so Baby Beez visited work with me. She watched Finding Nemo 1 and a half times, she wrote all over some scratch paper (pens are fascinating to her right now), she looked out the window, she ate some pretzels, and she threw some papers around. There was no screaming and no flailing, and I DID get my work done, so all in all it was a success.

When I was young, my mom worked at my school, so going to work with her was not a novelty.  My dad is an operating room nurse, and he once took me on a little tour of the OR, and I even got to watch a heart surgery (and by watch, I meant spent the time in a corner, holding onto a wall, trying not to pass out or be sick).  It was about the coolest thing my little self go to do.  I love it that our county has a big “Take Your Kids to Work” program at the courts, and can’t wait until Baby Beez is big enough to participate.  I am not pushing her to be a lawyer, but I do think it’s important to understand what Mommy is doing during those long hours away.

4 Responses to “NaBloPoMo Day 9: Administrative Assistant”

  1. laceyjbrown December 9, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    Heart surgery! How old were you when you witnessed that?

    • BeezusKiddo December 9, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

      I wasn’t really *young*…I think I was in 10th grade, but that’s still a lot younger than I am now.

  2. JasmineKyleSings December 11, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    I think your baby and mine are the same age. Mine is rolling his Elmo car round my legs as i speak.
    Mommy / Jungle gym! I have a son so I think that may have something to do with it! he’s a very sweet boy but I’m afraid he would have ripped your blue book to shreds.
    My daughter was not as active as my son but you know how it is. I love him he’s THE BEST!!! And before you know it he will be 3 and talking and will need me much less.
    I love it that you took your daughter to work. I love it that she watches NEMO. Oliver hates Nemo! What a fun post!

Leave a Reply

