BOOM. Yoga Revelation. And E2.

10 Dec

I had an awesome bikram yoga class today. I was focused, working hard, and did an awesome job. And during this fantastic class, I had a moment of clarity: These NaBloPoMo posts are getting boring. So I’m ditching them. SEE YA.

Now on to something fun– FOOD. Mr. Beez and I took our friends Christine and Trav out to E2 for a birthday brunch.

20121210-222113.jpg

I’ve been meaning to go there for ages, and was thrilled that Christine selected it. I’ve heard that the wait there can be hours long, so we went on the early side (10am). The dining room is very tiny, and can seat maybe 20-25 people. They have a nice big party room downstairs, where we sat and drank coffee while we waited for our table to open up. Even though the seating in the downstairs area are big communal tables, it would be really nice if they would open this area up for more brunch seating.

20121210-222030.jpg

E2 is BYOB.  And brunch isn’t brunch without mimosas.

20121210-222044.jpg

E2’s menu changes continuously, and this week’s menu was full of fresh winter vegetables and comfort foods.

20121210-222052.jpg

But there is also a standing menu of sweet and savory beignets.  These savory zeppoli (with pepper and cheese) were my favorite part of this delicious meal, and the caramel nut beignets were a close second.  I’m not much of a doughnut fan, but E2’s fried dough made my tastebuds sing.

20121210-222058.jpg

I ordered the butternut squash frittata.  On the whole it was delicious, but it could have used just a little kick.  I think it would have been perfect if there were some spicy sausage mixed in, or maybe I should have tried topping it with a bit of sriracha. That being said, it was still tasty, and I would not hesitate to order it again.

20121210-222105.jpg

Mr. Beez also happily devoured his omelette.  Our meals were hearty and reasonably priced.  I was glad that we did not get stuck with a terrible wait, and the servers were nice an attentive during our little wait.  E2 is a gem in Highland Park’s cute little business district.
E2 on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

