A better 2013 for our kids

21 Dec

I had a nightmare last night that Rachel died.(Yes, that is Baby Beez’ real name. I haven’t used it on here before, but referring to her with a cutesy pseudonym didn’t feel right, in the context of something so upsetting).
I woke up with that sad hollowness that I can only imagine is a shadow of the tremendous grief a parent suffers at the loss of a child.  I roused her from her crib, and snuggled her in my bed for all the minutes I could afford.  I ached dropping her off at daycare today.  I spent the whole day anxious for that moment where I could pick her up and just be with her.  I knew she was safe and fine and happy, but I was shaken enough by my dream that all I wanted was to be with her.

2012 has not been kind to children.  The tragedy at Newtown has shaken the whole country.  I can’t listen to news stories about it any more, I have to change the channel whenever it comes up.  It’s too upsetting.  I have two friends who have lost young children this year. There is nothing more heartwrenching than the misery twisting the face of a parent mourning a child.  I have had several other friends have struggled with their children through complicated and scary health conditions.

We’ve made it to the winter solstice.  The days will get brighter from here on out. January will bring us a new beginning, and new hope.  Hold your little ones close, and lets make 2013 a happier, healthier and more loving world for them.

Leave a Reply

