My love for .@CostcoTweets Truly Knows No Bounds

30 Jan

When I was a kid, I hated Costco.  We went there every weekend and went shopping, and it was boring.

When I got to college age, I learned better.  Costco meant huge hauls of food for cheap.  Awesome.

costco Since then, my love for Costco has grown and grown and grown.  I love that they treat their employees ethically.  I love that they offer huge hauls of food (especially produce) for cheap.  I would complain about the mindless hordes of shoppers, but I manage to go there pretty much exclusively at off-times, so I don’t have that problem at all.  Costco has been essential for baby supplies like diapers, wipes, etc.  I can’t imagine how much more those things would have cost basically anywhere else.

To top it all off, I had hands down the best customer service experience of my life at Costco today.  Let’s set the stage:

1.  Last year, I was talked into upgrading to an “Executive” membership, which means you get 2% of your purchases in cash back.

2. At the time of upgrade, I was promised that the cash back check would at a minimum be the difference in cost between regular membership and executive membership ($55).

3.  I got the cash back check, and it was only $21.87.

4.  My mom sent me a gift card for my birthday to renew my membership (this is my awesome awesome birthday present every year).  Except Mr. Beez was the one shopping when we were reminded that our membership was renewed.  He didn’t realize that I had a gift card for that, and he also didn’t realize the difference between executive and regular membership. So he paid out of pocket to renew executive membership, even though we didn’t want that anymore.

So I went into Costco ready to confront them about the insufficient check, and the member renewal gift card that I was really hoping they’d let me just use as a gift card instead of having to hold onto it until renewal time, and was actually unaware that our membership was renewed at the executive level at that time.

I approached customer services, and first asked them about using the the membership gift card as a merchandise gift card.  The representative: “Oh no, I’ll just give you cash for it.” CASH. DID YOU HEAR THAT! SHE JUST GAVE ME CASH, AND I DIDN’T EVEN HAVE TO ASK FOR IT, MUCH LESS FIGHT FOR IT!.

costco logoBut wait, it gets BETTER.

I show her the insufficient cash back check, gearing up to get in a fight about how they promised I’d at least get a check for $55, even though that’s not exactly what the fine print on the member terms says, but i wouldn’t have upgraded if they didn’t promise that….

She takes one look at the check, and before I even really say anything, she says “This was done wrong. You’re supposed to at least get $55.  I’m going to cash this check and also give you the rest of the amount in cash.”  SHE GAVE ME THE WHOLE AMOUNT I WAS SUPPOSED TO GET IN CASH. AND I DIDN’T EVEN HAVE TO ASK FOR IT, MUCH LESS FIGHT FOR IT!

Then came the final step– I asked her if Mr. Beez renewed at the executive or regular membership. She looked it up and said “Oh, it’s executive, if you just want regular, I’ll refund you the extra amount he paid for the executive.”  And then she did it! Right there! In cash!!

So I walked into Costco, ready to start talking my lawyer talk and get all bent out of shape…and lo and behold, I didn’t have to do any of that.  They put about $150 in cash in my hot little hand, right then and there.  It was such an exceptionally easy and fantastic customer service experience, I called Mr. Beez right away and said “YOU WILL NOT BELIEVE WHAT JUST HAPPENED AT COSTCO…”

So folks, my love for Costco is ever stronger.  I of course turned around and immediately filled my cart and spent that $150, and that was the happiest $150 I’ve ever spent at Costco.  See, they give me money, I give it back to them, everyone wins!

Costco, will you be my Valentine?

2 Responses to “My love for .@CostcoTweets Truly Knows No Bounds”

  1. JasmineKyleSings January 31, 2013 at 7:36 am #

    OH if this had happened to my husband he would be OVER THE MOON!!!! I haven’t been to costco in like FOREVER! I don’t have any fun on a budget and were on a budget so…. no costco! Wow you REALLY made me miss it!

  2. Melissa (@bettyandboo) February 2, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

    LOVE Costco. I’m a newly renewed member (thanks to a gift membership from my mom) after 10 years. We bought diapers and other baby stuff there when our twins were infants, back in the day. Had a similar experience as you … I bought a decorative basket sort of thing and it didn’t really fit as well as I thought on my table. I had the receipt, but when I brought it back, they just took it and handed me cash. (Well, they asked if I wanted cash or a gift card.) Easiest thing ever. And like you, I went right off and spent that cash right there.

Leave a Reply

