Unexpected Day of Rest (and movies and books)

2 Feb

My January got hijacked by a million different things.  I’m dreading getting my hours report for January, because the meager billables number is going to make me cry big tears.  I wasn’t sitting around and being lazy, there was just a lot going on.  Trial college and the HFF happy hour both took up a LOT of time.  Plus, there were fewer work emergencies because a lot of the things I was working on big time in December either settled or went into dormant mode.  These events were not unanticipated, I knew they were coming.  What I did not expect was that I would get sick and KEEP getting sick in January. Argh.

I don’t know if I came down with two separate cold/flu things, or if it was one sickness that waxed and waned, but I spent most of January sniffling, hacking, destroying box after box of Sudafed, and feeling miserable.  I eventually knew that January was a lost cause in terms of productivity, so I set my sight on February for a new, diligent beginning.

And then on February 1, I came down with pink eye.  ENOUGH with the getting sick already.  I look a total mess. Not a hot mess, but a scary gross terrible mess.  I went to the doctor on Friday afternoon, and she said that I could go back to work for the rest of the day as long as I washed my hands a lot, but I don’t think my coworkers would appreciate me risking them to catching this gross sickness.  I worked at home the rest of the day Friday (and yes, I actually did work).  Now that it’s the weekend, I’ve had to set aside most of the things I planned, and instead I’m sitting around, trying to hide my hideous, swollen, gross face from the world.

Baby Beez and I rented Hotel Transylvania on OnDemand, and we’re both loving it.  It’s a kid’s movie with a predictable storyline, but it’s funny, clever and a lot of fun for both adults and kids.  We got it for a 36 hour rental, we’ve already watched it three times, and I don’t mind at all.  I think we might need to buy this one to add to the DVD collection.

Hotel-Transylvania-Poster

I’ve also spent my time on the couch reading. Well, not a lot of reading, since I keep having to do eye compresses, and it’s very difficult and disorienting to read out of just one eye.  I’ve been slowly making my way through The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon.  It won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction in 2001, and it keeps coming up in lists of favorite books, so I decided it was worth a read.

kandc

The major themes of WWII/Nazi Germany and comics/the comic book industry are not themes that are high on my list of interests, but the storyline of the characters’ personal lives was interesting and kept me engaged.  It is a long book (639 pages), so reading it felt like it took forever, but the writing is smooth and (despite my impatience) was not a struggle to get through.  I can easily see how this book could reach certain readers to be their absolute favorite book ever, but it just didn’t have that fit with me.  It’s a great novel, exhaustively researched and beautifully written, but is not the sort that I feel the need to run out and tell everyone to read right now.

So to the extent I can actually see out of my disgusting eyes, I plan to spend today watching Machine Gun Preacher, reading The Antagonist and The Red Tent, doing a bunch of laundry, and washing washing washing washing my hands.

What’s up with yinz this weekend?

3 Responses to “Unexpected Day of Rest (and movies and books)”

  1. Becky Willis (@mrsgregwillis) February 2, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    January sure can suck it. Yuck! Sometimes busy moms need a weekend with kids just like you’re having, enjoy it lots. 🙂

  2. Jenna Hatfield February 2, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

    I don’t even know where January went!

    • BeezusKiddo February 2, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

      Seriously! January was bananas. b-a-n-a-n-a-s.

Leave a Reply

