In Between Pants

5 Feb

I went (online) shopping under protest this morning. I usually LOVE shopping online, in real life, from a catalog, whatever.  This time, not so much.  I’m in that frustrating in-between phase of weight loss.  I’ve lots enough weight that my work pants look terrible on me.  The bum is saggy, they give me elephant legs, oh dear lord they look awful.  I bought a new pair of black pants at Banana Republic a couple weeks ago that actually fit, and when I wear them, I feel like a million bucks.  Of course, I’m not made of money, so new Banana Republic pants aren’t an every day thing.

My abs don't look like this at all. Not even close. But you get the idea.

My abs don’t look like this at all. Not even close. But you get the idea.

I didn’t want to buy new pants right now, because it feels like doing so gives my current size permanence.  If I buy new clothes for my body how it is now, then my body’s going to settle where it is.  I don’t want that.

When I someday get down to my “goal weight” (yes, I’m actively working on that with WW and gym visits and yoga and personal training), I want to splurge on nice clothes and even make a look book with a personal stylist.  Buying new pants now chips away at my fashion fund, and feels like I’m nibbling at a treat I did not yet earn.

I bought the pants, but I didn’t buy them happily.  NY & Co. is running a buy-one-get-one-50%-off sale right now, so I got 4 pairs of cheap pants for about what I paid for my nice new Banana Republic pants.  NY & Co. tends not to be the greatest quality, but who cares? Maybe that will motivate me to lose more weight so those pants don’t fit anymore.

How do you deal with your in-between pants phase?

9 Responses to “In Between Pants”

  1. kozerawilliams February 5, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    If you’re just looking for in between pants, you should check out the deep discount racks at Banana, Banana Outlet, Macy’s etc. Most pants are at least three season (summer/fall/spring or fall/spring/winter) in reality but they tend to move out what they consider last season’s stuff and it’s usually, like, fall pants you could totally wear through May. That’s how I’ve gotten most of my transitional pants.

    Also I got some nice ones at Limited that weren’t too much money. They have stretch in them. Having stretch in them is key.

    • BeezusKiddo February 5, 2013 at 10:37 am #

      I’ve been meaning to go dig through the sale racks, I just haven’t found time to do it. I went the online route to save some time. Who knows if they’ll actually fit, though…so maybe it won’t work. I agree, stretch is essential.

  2. Misadventure Ms. February 5, 2013 at 10:48 am #

    Lizzybeth, it seems you have tapped into a niche market. Someone could make a killing if they started a clothing rental of high-end business clothes and somehow marketed to women who are in the in-between. Women on weight loss paths after babies and just in general would be a great client base. It could be motivational too, because they could limit how long the clothes could be out for or if the client rented them too many times, like Netflix the “In-Between-pants” would become theirs.

    • BeezusKiddo February 5, 2013 at 10:50 am #

      They’ve done it with high-end handbags, I don’t see why it couldn’t work for pants!

  3. ktmade February 5, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    I just remember what they say on “What Not to Wear,” which is to buy clothes that fit NOW. I totally understand your budgeting frustration, but remember that every day you go to work feeling like you look awesome, you’ll be better able to reach your fitness and health goals because you’ll feel so good about yourself.

  4. JasmineKyleSings February 6, 2013 at 8:53 am #

    When I get out of this pant size I’ll get some safety pins and pin these bad boys up!!! Till I can’t walk in them with them falling off as I stand!!!

    • BeezusKiddo February 6, 2013 at 9:03 am #

      I’ve actually already gone that route, and they’re still too big! I actually had them taken in once, and they fit then, but then I lost more weight and they’re all saggy butted again. They’d look even more ridiculous if they get taken in again. Time to buy some new ones (or just wear more dresses)

Leave a Reply

