Argo (2012)

21 Feb

I probably would have never bothered to see Argo at all if it weren’t for all those darn award nominations. And I fully intended to write this post about how Ben Affleck is all talk and no walk, and the movie is totally overrated, and the academies don’t know what they’re doing and give totally predictable nominations and bla bla bla.

argo

Then I saw the movie.  Argo is excellent.  Even though I am fully gung ho on the Beasts of the Southern Wild bandwagon, I would not fret one little bit if Argo swept the Oscars this weekend instead.

Although I love spy movies, I am consistently bored with movies focused on the retelling of historical events.  That’s a weird way to describe a genre, because isn’t almost every movie a retelling of a historical event in a way? But you know what I mean.  Telling me that a film is about the Iranian hostage crisis is a surefire way to get me to not care about it, hence my complete lack of interest up until award noms were handed out.

argo_ver7Argo is full of suspense. And it’s exciting. And it’s got a million actors I love in it (Alan Arkin! Brian Cranston! That woman who played the girlfriend of the reporter in American Horror Story:Asylum!) Even though you have a general idea of how the whole thing will play out since it already happened, I was on the edge of my seat and biting my nails every moment of the way.

Touche Ben Affleck, touche. You really can make a film.

2 Responses to “Argo (2012)”

  1. Jenna Hatfield February 21, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

    I just can’t stand Ben. I might see it. But meh.

    • BeezusKiddo February 21, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

      I can’t get the South Park Ben Affleck out of my head, but this movie was much less Ben Affleck than the usual Ben Affleck.

Leave a Reply

