Funny Thing, That

12 Mar

I start a trial next week, so I downed a cup of coffee at like 9pm so I could get some work done, but now I’ve done enough work and I want to go to bed but I’m still all awake. Also I made a personal training appointment for 6am tomorrow because I am stupid.

So funny thing. I got pulled over for the first time ever today.  It was in the crime-ridden depths of the Squirrel Hill business district.  I have never been pulled over before, and I was so nervous that as I was pulling over into the only possible place I could stop my darn car, I scuffed another car.  The officer stopped me because my registration was expired. Except it’s not. It’s valid (and so is my insurance! and my license!) I just hadn’t put the sticker on my license plate because [insert very good reason here].  Anyway, the officer took my papers ran them through his computer, then gave them back to me and didn’t write me a ticket or give me a warning or anything because I didn’t do anything illegal to begin with.  But he did scold me for scuffing the other car and told me I should probably leave a note.

I considered not leaving a note because I am a terrible person and because it really genuinely was only scuffed (I could have probably buffed the mark out with my sweatshirt sleeve).  But if I didn’t leave a note, I know karma would GET ME.  So I did. I left one.  And I’ve been expectantly sitting by my cell phone all night. Except the person who owns the car probably saw it and thought “this is dumb. I can buff this out with my sweatshirt sleeve.” And didn’t bother to call.  Nonetheless, I’ll be hovering over that cell phone for days to come.

All right yinz. Time to go stare at the bedroom ceiling in caffeinated agitation until my 5am alarm goes off and wonder WHY ON EARTH WOULD I SCHEDULE PERSONAL TRAINING FOR 6AM?!

6 Responses to “Funny Thing, That”

  1. Caitlin March 13, 2013 at 9:53 am #

    I love this post, not that all these bad things happened to you, just I like how your brain works. Also, the first time I was pulled over I couldn’t stop crying. It was really embarassing. I still got a ticket though.

    • BeezusKiddo March 13, 2013 at 9:55 am #

      Thanks 🙂 It didn’t end up being bad, really. And the car person hasn’t called, so they’re probably not going to. OFF THE HOOK on that one!

  2. sue March 13, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

    When I took car for inspection, my mechanic of ten years told me that he could not complete b/c the sticker was MIA. I had to zip out to AAA and pay for replacement sticker. I asked a police officer friend who told me that the sticker is required to be affixed and it could be a moving violation – registration is not sufficient. I had no idea. Thank goodness I had a way to get to AAA and had that membership.

    • BeezusKiddo March 13, 2013 at 7:32 pm #

      I just checked the code and the sticker isn’t a requirement. Looks like you were getting jerked around.

  3. nades3 March 14, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

    Hope you don’t get that phone call! And glad everything turned out okay with the cop. I’ve never been pulled over, but I know I would be a nervous wreck 🙂

    • BeezusKiddo March 15, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

      They never ended up calling. I guess that’s my reward for doing the right thing and leaving a note. Right? Right?

Leave a Reply

