Archive | 9:01 pm

Musings on Weight Watchers

20 Feb

I’m coming up on six months of participation in Weight Watchers.  At first I felt very proud about that, and then I realized how much (or little) weight I have lost in that time period, and I felt pretty crummy.  Weight Watchers is known for slow weight loss.  In my case, it has gone at a glacial pace.  When I feel down about it, I look at the big chart of my weight, and it does show a steady downward slope.  The first 5% of my weight loss came fairly easily, but I’ve had a heckuva time making it to 10%.  I just cashed in a ton of credit card points for an Athleta gift card, and I’ve promised myself some fancy workout gear when I make it to the 10%.

I cannot tie myself to the scale as my only measure.  I’ve noticed some big milestones in this slow journey.  Once tight clothes are fitting better, and clothes that once fit are entirely too loose.  I’ve become more enthusiastic about working out, and have gone from working out once a week (or once every two weeks) to a steady three times per week.  I’ve even put aside the excuses and worked out occasionally during lunchtime.

I’m most proud that the choices have started becoming easier.  It helps that Mr. Beez and I are trying to cut back on dining out, but even when we go to restaurants, it no longer feels like an epic battle between the entree I desperately want and the entree I think I should have.  This is not to say I always make the lowest calorie choice, but no longer does every selection have to be the most decadent plate available.  It is becoming easier for me to make the healthier selection when it’s a run of the mill dinner out, and save the over-the-top ridiculoso selections for special meals.  It’s becoming easier for me to grab (and be happy about) fruits and vegetables as a snack, instead of granola bar after granola bar after granola bar.  Gradually, the magnitude of my “blow it out of the water” days has lessened.  A bad day today is far less bad than a bad day six months ago.

My health generally has had some positive progress.  I wish I could say that I have more energy all the time, but at least I have more energy on the days that I’m working out.  As long as I eat regularly and balanced meals, I no longer have blood sugar crashes.

From my participation in meetings, I’ve learned some invaluable mantras:  A gain isn’t failure, it’s feedback.  Weight Watchers is forever, and if I didn’t do well this week, I’ve got next week to get it back on track.

Good lord I’ve got a long way to go, and it is taking forever to get there.  But with these little steps, there are little successes, and I need to keep moving.